Tourist tax??

I recently went to Niagara Falls with my husband 2 children for a 3 day family getaway. We had an amazing time and enjoyed going however there was a lot of sticker shock while looking up the cost of things. I did my homework to avoid over spending and wanted to save where ever I possibly could.

One night while I was googling things past my bed time I fell upon a CBC special called Stash your Cash. They explained how there is a tourist tax added to most things including hotels, restaurants and attractions. It ranges from 4% to 10% of your bill. This can add up quick!! What people are unaware of is this tourist tax is optional.

Yep you read that correctly…. you do not have to pay it!

I put this to the test on my trip. At the end of my trip I tallied it all up and I saved over $144!! That’s not a small amount.

If you are planning a trip soon to Niagara Falls soon keep this in mind so you can keep your hard earned money.

You can check out the program I watched at CBC Stash your Cash special

Let me know your thoughts on this topic.

Falls with people

Leave a Reply

